Day well spent; Day 65

Today was such a great day. As I mentioned yesterday, my sister and I hung out with our grand aunt. We headed over to her house around noon and headed straight for lunch at this little indian restaurant in Bangsar called Lakshmi Bhavan. It was pretty quiet when we got there, well I guess it was because we were there before 1pm. My grand aunt got a little over excited and ordered a little bit too much food, but being the hungry monsters that we were, we ended up finishing it all. She got us an indian Thali Meal which is basically white rice with some vegetables, curry, meat, and other stuff on the side. It’s very much like the banana leave rice that some indian restaurants serve, only the Thali meal came in a silver plate and every side dish came in its own tiny silver bowl. She then got us some thosai (a kind of indian bread), and some fish curry. Everything tasted excellent and I am definitely not exaggerating. The flavours of all the different curries mixed so well with the rice and thosai, it was like heaven in my mouth.Seriously, I miss legitimate indian food when I’m in Iowa, there’s no way you’ll get food as good as this over there. Every bite meant the world to me.

Besides that, it was nice hanging out with my grand aunt. She may be much older than I am, but she’s pretty cool. She loves hanging out with us and we just love going out to different cafe’s and food joints with her. It was a much needed catch up session. After lunch we headed over to her house for a bit to get our food down a little. I was literally walking like a pregnant woman after that meal. THAT’S how stuffed I felt.

After that, my grand aunt thought it was a good idea to go over to Publika. So Publika is this really hipster mall, with loads of hipster stores and cafe’s. And I’ve been dying to go there ever since I got back to do a little cafe’ hopping. Of course, I didn’t get to do the hopping that I  hoped to do today because, dragging my aunt to several different cafe’s in a day wasn’t such good idea, but we did sit and have a little drink at one of the cafe’s. This one was called Farenhite 600. It was packed! There was not a single seat available inside the cafe, so we got a table outside. Thankfully the weather was really good. It wasn’t too hot plus we had the breeze to cool us down. The three of us talked more over coffee. My mother would usually be at these little gathering but she was too busy to join us today, so not having her around was a little different.

Once our little coffee chat was over, I drove us back to my grand aunt’s house. One other benefit from today was that I learnt the roads to drive to different places today. BONUS! My sister and I decided to head home a little later, also because it looked like it was going to rain.

Later that night, my sister and I decided to go and a little spontaneous shopping trip! After the rain went down, we got into the car and drove ourselves to the Paradigm Mall. Walked a little and then headed home. All in all it was a really good day. Spent with the people that I care about. It’s been good. Real good 🙂

Tomorrow however, I’ll be meeting some friends! And we’re going to this really good burger joint in Bangsar. Apparently, burgers are in these days. There seems to be a ton of new burger joins opening up everywhere. I was just looking some up on Google and now I feel so hungry I could eat just about anything. Take this tip and NEVER, I repeat NEVER google food  at 1am, when you’re all tucked in bed. It’s the worst thing you could possibly do to your tummy.I’m going to have to sleep off this hunger. Nights y’all! IMG_20140729_162018 20140729_143145

Leave a comment